Our History & History Room



Albright United Methodist Church was originally organized in l925 as the Lincoln Heights Chapel of The Evangelical Church. It soon changed its name to the First Evangelical Church. The Evangelical denomination was originally organized in l800 for German speaking Christians in Pennsylvania by Jacob Albright, originally a Lutheran who converted to the Methodist movement. In l946 our church became the First Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Church when two denominations, The Evangelical Church and the United Brethren Church, united. In l968, The Evangelical United Brethren Church united with The Methodist Church, and our church took the name, The Albright United Methodist Church.

The original facilities consisted of a wooden chapel building constructed in 1925 as a missionary project of the Kansas Conference of The Evangelical Church. A sanctuary was built adjacent to the chapel, the basement of which was placed in service in l929. Formal dedication of the new building was held November 23, 1930. The additon of the educational section to the building was accomplished in l976. In l990 another addition was completed which added an elevator. 

We have a history room located on the second floor just off the balcony. Please check with the church office for access to the room.

You can learn more about the history of the United Methodist Church or explore the website for the General Commission on Archives and History.

Contents © 2023 Albright United Methodist Church • Church Website Builder by mychurchwebsite.netPrivacy Policy